Food and Love – movie review (The Lunchbox)

Image

The latest movie i saw had to be related to food…The Lunchbox was a movie i wanted to catch as soon as it was released but my newly acquired responsibility (my son) did not allow me to do that. Thanks to my son’s unsuspecting nanny and a sport that my mum is, i finally managed to catch it.

What i liked about the movie most?

The possibility that the characters in the movie may exist in real life.  Yes, in Mumbai anything is possible. The loneliness, the need to belong and to be loved in a fast paced city of Mumbai – yes it is all possible.

The food. The food was the unsung hero in the movie. If there was no food in the lunchbox, there wouldn’t be love in the two lost souls the movie was based on.

The movie celebrated the fact that good food can change everything. It reinforce my belief that food (apart from being the key to man’s heart as the movie says) also makes any dreary day look bright, makes all the wrongs right and generally lifts your mood to an extent that it makes all things possible.

The way the food for the lunchbox was prepared, the discussion between Mrs Deshpande and Ila was also entertaining. I could almost smell the aroma of the food that was delivered to Mr Fernandez.

The acting. Loved the main characters of the movie (Irrfan Khan and Nimrat Kaur) without a doubt. But the casting of even the supporting characters – Lilette Dubey, Nawazuddin and even the voice of Mrs Deshpande (Bharti Achrekar) was perfect.

Flashes of humor. The little flashes of humor in the movie make the whole package far more endearing than it was actually set out to be. But i wont talk about them here, they need to be experienced while watching the movie.

What could have been better?

A little bit of story weaving on Mr Fernandez’s life would have given the movie a little bit more depth into his current condition as depicted in the movie.

Also why did Fernandez decide to cancel his plans to Nasik? No idea about that too…I would have liked a little bit of information there as well.

I loved the way the movie ended though. It left me with a beautiful feeling and hope that there was a future after all for Ila and Mr Fernandez.

And the movie made me hungry enough to come home and have a good home cooked meal of rice, vegetable curry and bacon (recipe coming up soon!).

My verdict: Go watch the movie, if you believe that food can create miracles and love stories.

One Comment Add yours

  1. simplypriti says:

    I love your review. Will surely watch with my hubby. He is a ‘Fernandes’ and always claims that the food I prepare for him demonstrates my love and he says he can tell which mood I am in by how the food turns out! My food usually tastes good, but he can even tell me if I made something in a hurry even if it tastes great to me! So Yes I believe in miracles brought about by food:) Looking fwd to seeing this movie!

Leave a Reply

