I wish i were…a travelling foodie

This would be my dream job. Would be ideal to be someone who gets paid to travel to new places and to eat the local cuisine of that location.

I am highly inspired by the book EAT PRAY LOVE. She talks about food in a manner you can taste it. The aroma of food wafts through her book – be it some lasange she is eating or the plain simple aromatic Indian food she is trying at the ashrams she stay, heck you can almost taste the wine she is sipping. That is the kind of writing i want to do. Actually taste and feel the food, the air in the place that i visit, the vibe of the people around me and then write about it – with feeling.

My best writing is when i write about food, possibly because it connect me to my senses – i remember in detail the texture, the aroma and the taste of the food i ate – even ages back and i can beautifully write about it. And to have someone pay you good solid money to do this – that is just the icing on the cake. I would use all that money to travel some more, to eat some more and maybe exercise (a little) πŸ˜‰

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Omkar says:

    Great post Janice, that sounds like a really tempting career to have – food and travel, few of my passions too!

  2. subzeroricha says:

    I find writing travel or my food journeys very difficult. I believe somewhere I hold this very strongly in my head that explaining my experiences through these two categories will be more philosophical than actual facts or documentation ! But yes I would also (like you) love to be paid for my writing πŸ˜€

  3. RamyaRao says:

    I wish I were a traveler you know. Food. Writing. New places. Experience!
    May you live your dream job one day. 😊

  4. Oh boy its my first time on your blog and am just drooling all those food pics! somehow when I click food pics … which is very rare , my food pics never come out as good and I ve never managed to write about food ..
    but Eat pray love and those visuals of food were sumptuous . loved it too .. coz it combined travel and food just like you mentioned ..

    1. thank you! lovely to have you on the blog

  5. Hahaha! That’s a good idea πŸ˜€ But you’ll have to be careful not to take your job seriously else you might stop enjoying these favorite pastimes of yours. Sometime back I had become a self appointed food critic and started sharing reviews on Zomato. Then I realized that instead of enjoying my outings I was busy taking pics and analyzing food 😬

Leave a Reply

