G for Gelato #AtoZchallenge catch-up 

Gelato is probably not a new craze anymore but there is a time where we used to go out for ice cream a lot but now we go to eat gelato 🙄. For all practical purposes and from the point of view of my 4 year old son, gelato is ice cream. It is cold, it is creamy and it is sweet so sorry gelato we are back to calling you ice cream. 

Even wiki says “Gelato is an English term for ice cream made in an Italian style. Gelato is made with a base of milk, cream, and sugar, and flavored with fruit and nut purees and other flavorings.”

Gelato has lesser air and less fat churned into it during the freezing process. All ice cream is more water and less milk while gelato is more milk, less water and less fat.

I tasted gelato over 7 years back when Gelato Italiano launched in India, roughly around 2011. Till then we had to make do with Vadilal who made ( and still does make) the creamiest vanilla ice cream and with Kwality Walls for their exotic cornettos. There were other favourite too like Naturals which made different exotic flavors like coconut and papaya which were unheard of then. 

One of the gelato brands – Mimi’s gourmet gelatos – handmade by Shubhi Goel, based in Mumbai, and I reviewed is here

Gelato however holds a special place for me this summer, because my son never quite enjoyed ice cream like he enjoyed his vanilla bean gelato at Bali. 

Gelato helped me create a lasting pleasant memory of time I spent with my little boy. He demanded that it be given to him in a waffle cone and not a cup. We sat in the hotel lobby and dedicated half an hour to savoring the gelato bit by bit. He didn’t want to share it with me but I ate it when he wasn’t looking 😜I had to save the ice cream from melting away right before he took the next bite! The gelato store owner too wasn’t to confident that we would be able to eat this piece of goodness between us, kept checking if we needed a cup to salvage the gelato from dripping and falling to the floor. But we did just fine. 

Here is a pic that will always remind me of my gelato memory with Aiden. 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Neha says:

    I haven’t tried Gelato!! After reading this, I need to hunt for one quickly 😛
    Nasty

    1. Thank you for your kind words 🙂

  2. …and now I want Jello… I know I know, not what you were talking about. I can’t help where my mind wanders off too 🙂

Leave a Reply

